Standout Strategies http://standout-strategies.com Helping you stand out in this tough market Thu, 27 Apr 2017 23:29:19 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=4.8 Networking Will Land You the Job You Want. http://standout-strategies.com/networking-will-land-you-the-job-you-want/ Fri, 08 May 2015 17:04:57 +0000 http://standout-strategies.com/?p=2829 I’ll begin this post with an obvious truth: Most of us don’t like to network. But the reality is, it’s a critical part of any job search and something you need to incorporate and get better at. Here are some facts about

See more ›

The post Networking Will Land You the Job You Want. appeared first on Standout Strategies.

]]>
Changing Careers at 50 http://standout-strategies.com/changing-careers-at-50/ Wed, 07 Jan 2015 01:44:35 +0000 http://standout-strategies.com/?p=2771 First of all, you can do it. Life is too short to stay in a job you hate or where you feel underutilized. But ask yourself five critical questions before making a career change at 50: Should I start my

See more ›

The post Changing Careers at 50 appeared first on Standout Strategies.

]]>
Graduates: Job Search Tips That Work http://standout-strategies.com/graduates-job-search-tips-that-work/ Mon, 09 Jun 2014 18:09:00 +0000 http://standout-strategies.com/?p=2666 If you just graduated, will graduate soon, or will eventually graduate…it’s time to get going on your job search. It’s never too early or too late to start. Getting a Job Takes Work But you’ll learn a lot about yourself

See more ›

The post Graduates: Job Search Tips That Work appeared first on Standout Strategies.

]]>
5 Tips to Great Public Speaking http://standout-strategies.com/5-tips-to-great-public-speaking/ Wed, 09 Apr 2014 05:00:24 +0000 http://standout-strategies.com/?p=2592 I just got off the phone with a client who’s got to speak in front of 500 people next month – probably in some impersonal hotel ballroom complete with dais, a lonely wooden lectern in center stage and flooded with

See more ›

The post 5 Tips to Great Public Speaking appeared first on Standout Strategies.

]]>
Interview Questions You Wish They Wouldn’t Ask http://standout-strategies.com/job-interview-questions-too-old-too-young-gaps-in-employment-job-hopping/ Thu, 24 Oct 2013 14:00:09 +0000 http://standout-strategies.com/?p=2157 These are topics you’d like to avoid…like maybe something you wish the employer might not notice. I call them dreaded topics. Everyone has one – at least one. What’s yours? Let’s discuss a few. Gaps in Employment? Not everyone in

See more ›

The post Interview Questions You Wish They Wouldn’t Ask appeared first on Standout Strategies.

]]>
Common Mistakes on Skype Calls http://standout-strategies.com/common-mistakes-on-skype-calls/ Tue, 03 Sep 2013 05:00:41 +0000 http://standout-strategies.com/?p=1863 Video chat programs (Skype, G-chat, Google Hangout) are wonderful technological inventions that allow us to simultaneously talk and be seen during a call. And let’s remember the emphasis on the “be seen” part right up front. Video chats are not your

See more ›

The post Common Mistakes on Skype Calls appeared first on Standout Strategies.

]]>
Upspeak – A Big Mistake in Your Job Interview http://standout-strategies.com/job-interview-mistakes/ Thu, 08 Aug 2013 23:07:11 +0000 http://standout-strategies.com/?p=1843 My job is to help clients do whatever they can to present themselves more effectively in this job market. It’s pretty competitive out there and I want my clients to be memorable in their job interviews –  but memorable in

See more ›

The post Upspeak – A Big Mistake in Your Job Interview appeared first on Standout Strategies.

]]>
Top Tips on Behavioral Interview Questions http://standout-strategies.com/top-tips-on-behavioral-interview-questions/ Tue, 23 Jul 2013 22:20:25 +0000 http://standout-strategies.com/?p=1743 Let’s begin by defining what a behavioral question is because I think it’s a confusing term…and who thought up that name anyway? A behavioral question is used in job interviews to help employers better understand the candidate’s work experience and

See more ›

The post Top Tips on Behavioral Interview Questions appeared first on Standout Strategies.

]]>
Example of a Good Resume Format http://standout-strategies.com/whats-the-best-format-for-your-resume/ Wed, 22 May 2013 05:00:26 +0000 http://standout-strategies.com/?p=1455 As I said in a previous post, I don’t think there is just one good resume format. The more important question to ask yourself: What’s the best way to display my tailored (to this particular job opening) skills so they

See more ›

The post Example of a Good Resume Format appeared first on Standout Strategies.

]]>
Do You Always Need a Cover Letter? http://standout-strategies.com/do-you-always-need-a-cover-letter/ Tue, 07 May 2013 05:00:11 +0000 http://standout-strategies.com/?p=1434 I usually advise my clients that cover letters are always important. Why? Because it’s your first introduction to the employer and should be strong enough to entice the reader to open your attached resume. If your resume doesn’t get opened, what’s

See more ›

The post Do You Always Need a Cover Letter? appeared first on Standout Strategies.

]]>